Gilmore Girls: A Review in the life

gilmore girls logoI was introduced to the quirky and beloved ‘Gilmore Girls’ around two months ago, by a close friend. I then proceeded to watch all 7 seasons and the revival in just under two months. So clearly… I hated it. I mean who could fall in love with a show surrounding a small town with endless charm, quick-witted and lovable central characters such as Lorelai and Rory Gilmore and relatable issues such as money and growing up and leaving home? In case it wasn’t clear, that was sarcasm, I loved it. I think I watched this show at just the right time in my life, leaving college and trying to decide what I want to do in my future. Because of this, I was able to relate heavily to the characters in the show and loved every second of it.

I had been warned by every person I spoke to about the show, that the revival was nothing in comparison to the original tv show, that something essential seemed to be missing. Because of this I was fully prepared to dislike the Netflix revival. However, this simply was not the case. I didn’t love it as much as the original show because something didn’t feel the same, but the more I think about it, the more I realise the large extent to which I enjoyed it. I loved seeing what is the same and what’s changed in the Gilmore’s lives, are Luke and Lorelai married? Do they have a kid? How is Rory’s career doing? Is she in a relationship? 

The lack of the classic theme, “Where you lead”, was a significant drawback for me. The opening credits of the original show were never skipped and to me was two minutes of sing-along madness. The song encompasses the essence of the show and the replacement words of the season in which the episode was based around, didn’t give the same feeling, it almost felt as if I was missing out. Although, I do understand that the theme probably wouldn’t have worked well with the new cinematic feel of the show. 

I loved seeing all of my favourite characters appearing throughout the four episodes like doseys yitlMiss Patty, Babette, Jess and Jackson. I particularly enjoyed seeing Melissa McCarthy reprise her role as Sookie St James in the final episode. That moment for me felt very reminiscent of the episode in which Sookie bakes all the cakes for Lorelai and Max’s wedding, early on in the show. Another moment I loved from the revival was the scene in Dosey’s market between Rory and Dean. Again, this scene had the nostalgic feel, which is one of the things I think the revival really succeeds at. Side note: that last scene with Jess, he is totally still in love with her.

One notable difference in the show is the death of Richard Gilmore, due to the death of the actor Edward Herremann in 2014. This has a profound effect on the show and his character’s death plays a significant part of the plot and to the relationship between Lorelai and Emily. Although the character has passed away, Richard Gilmore’s presence is still felt in many ways throughout the four episodes.

Emily goes through a largely significant change over the course of the show, due to her husband’s death. She struggles with coping with her grief throughout and ends up selling the house and moving away with her maid and her family. One of my favourite moments from the show was her epic “BULLSHIT” moment during a D.A.R meeting. It had me in absolute hysterics. Finally, in true Emily Gilmore fashion, she makes a deal with Lorelai, who needs money for the expansion of the inn, for weeks in the summer and at Christmas, ending her narrative on the revival. 

Another thing I thoroughly enjoyed about the show was Lorelai’s journey from grief about her father’s death and confusion about her relationship with Luke to her moment of realisation, which happens to occur after attempting to get some coffee in the middle of nowhere, a very apt time for such a revelation. Whilst staring out at the beautiful scenery, Lorelai calls Emily and tells her of her favourite memory of Richard, a very heartfelt and emotional moment, that once again had me in tears. (I know I cry at everything.)

in omnia paratus.pngIN OMNIA PARATUS! The reunion of the Life and Death Brigade is one of the most magical moments of the revival for me, although it was strange as it should be. I really appreciated the way it was shot, like a mockumentry thriller movie, with Rory walking down the street to the Stars Hollow Gazette and the crow saying her name, the woman who works in the Gazette saying “In Omnia Paratus” into a torch, and Rory finally looking out the window to the three men walking down the street with gorilla masks covering their faces. The atmosphere was just perfect. It was utterly magical. The whole Life and Death Brigade final adventure reminded me of the need for a Finn in my life.

I absolutely adored the arch of Rory in the final two episodes, where she’s not sure what she wants to do next, until Jess comes to see her and gives her the idea of writing the book about her life. I would 100% read Rory’s book, anyone else? It felt like such a perfect way of ending it all in a nice neat bow.

Overall, my favourite was the last two episodes. They were the most reminiscent of the original show, with a lot of the fan favourite characters coming back and significant moments such as the proposal and midnight wedding (my favourite moment of the revival). The wedding was shot so beautifully. It was very cinematic and the music paired with the scene was just stunning and fit the couple so much. I didn’t realise till later that it was the song that they first dance to at TJ and Liz’s wedding. Cue girly squealing. The wedding was a moment so desired by fans of the show felt like a perfect end to the revival. Whilst watching, I had thought that the wedding was the final scene of the show and was very pleased. But, then comes the scene with the bombshell. “Mum, I’m pregnant.” I’m still not sure how I feel about it, to be honest. I understand the appeal, the characters coming full circle, but it didn’t feel right for the moment. 

“Just one note. Drop the ‘the’. Just Gilmore Girls. It’s Cleaner.”

just gilmore girls. it's cleaner

A Female’s Favourite Fiction

Leave a comment